Local government

Here you can learn about the local government of Stourport-on-Severn, including some of the key figures and organisations that provide local services and represent local interests.

Member of parliament

Mark Garnier

Mark Garnier is the MP for Wyre Forest, and represents the Conservative party.

town MAYOR

John Thomas

Councillor John Thomas is the current Mayor of Stourport. 

A new Mayor is elected every year.

Three different councils are responsible for different parts of Stourport’s local government and services, you can find out more about each below, including details on contacting the right authority.

Stourport Town Council
Wyre Forest District Council
Worcestershire County Council

Stourport Town Council

Stourport-on-Severn Town Council has 18 Town Council Members. The town is divided into 6 Electoral Wards, each returning 3 Town Council Members. Elections are generally held every fourth year. The Town Council services include:

– Owning and maintaining parkland
– Open space land
– Two allotment garden sites
– A cemetery
– Common land
– Town centre gardens which include the War Memorial Garden

Wyre Forest District Council

Wyre Forest is a local government district in Worcestershire, England, covering the towns of Kidderminster, Stourport-on-Severn and Bewdley, and several civil parishes and their villages. 

  • Council Tax & Benefits
  • Rubbish & Recycling
  • Streets & Parking
  • Planning & Buildings
  • Housing

Worcestershire County Council

Worcestershire County Council provides a huge range of services for the residents and businesses of Worcestershire. These include facilities such as schools and libraries, the provision of care for vulnerable and older residents, road maintenance, and supporting economic and social development across the County. The County Council works in partnership with a number of local businesses, voluntary organisations and other local authorities such as District and Parish Councils.